Samedi, 23 Mars 2019
Latest news
Main » Election Results: MP, Rajasthan, Chattisgarh, Telengana & Mizoram; Who Won Where?

Election Results: MP, Rajasthan, Chattisgarh, Telengana & Mizoram; Who Won Where?

12 Décembre 2018

The current count shows the Congress now leading with 114 seats, with 76 seats to the BJP and 1 to other parties. The CPI (M), which also fought these elections separately and won two seats in Rajasthan, urged the new governments to be formed to respect the people's verdict and adopt policies aimed at improving people's livelihood and reducing their miseries.

The governing Bharatiya Janata party's (BJP) vote collapsed by 17 percentage points in Rajasthan state and by at least 12 points in Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh, all part of the Hindi heartland where Indian governments are traditionally made or broken. Post results, there is a general feeling that if the Congress had gone the whole hog on anti-incumbency, the party could have managed to pocket a few more seats.

A mapping of the assembly segments onto the relevant parliamentary seats suggests that the BJP would still win 17 of 29 seats in MP and 13 of 25 seats in Rajasthan, but get nearly wiped out in Chhattisgarh winning just one of the state's 11 seats if voters made the same choices that they have made this time.

He said the newly-elected Congress MLAs will meet on Wednesday to choose the leader of the legislature party. At the time of writing this article, Congress has been maintaining a steady lead.

"You should remember that the BJP won 165 seats in the last elections in the state and now there is loss of almost 100 seats". The Congress was ahead in five seats, losing as many as 10 seats. "I don't think any opposition alliance can defeat us", he said.

The four Independents are: Kedar Chidabhai Dawar from Bhagwanpura, Thakur Surendra Singh Naval Singh from Burhanpur, Vikaram Singh Rana Guddu Bhai from Susner and Pradeep Amratlal Jaiswal (Gudda) from Waraseoni. Congress President Rahul Gandhi said they would continue to question the government for its failures. In Rajasthan, three exit polls have predicted a clear edge for the Congress, making the Opposition party upbeat.

"We have decided that we will not stake claim to form the government as we have not achieved clear majority".

The Election Commission of India will be making a declaration of the results shortly.

Markets recovered from sharp early losses and ended marginally higher, though the central bank governor's sudden resignation on Monday kept investors nervous. In Madhya Pradesh, where the BJP had been in power for 15 consecutive years, the results went down to the wire, with counting going on late into the night.

It got 41% of the total votes polled, while the Congress got 40.9%. "Today's results will further our resolve to serve people and work even harder for the development of India", he said. The SP, which is now promising support to the Congress, had also contested separately. However, what remains to be seen is whether the party would deliver the Congress president's promise of farm loan waiver within ten days of forming the government. According to senior party leaders, some of the key factors which will be kept in mind for making the choice includes image of the leader, caste and community combinations and the ability to take along everyone together.

Election Results: MP, Rajasthan, Chattisgarh, Telengana & Mizoram; Who Won Where?